2011 APEC Conference: What is APEC And Why Honolulu?

In 2011 Honolulu will host the 2011 APEC Leader’s Meeting on November 6- 13.

What is APEC?

APEC, or Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, is an association of economies from the Asia-Pacific region that work together to advance regional economic integration and prosperity. It was established in 1989, and since then has worked to reduce tariffs and other trade barriers across the included region. Their mission also includes facilitating business interactions between member nations and educating and training members in international trade. APEC does not produce trade agreements, but instead, its goal is to facilitate discussion on economic integration, which in-turn influences the policy of member economies.

Who are the Members?

There are 21 member economies Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Republic of the Philippines, The Russian Federation, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, The United States, Vietnam.

Why Honolulu?

Honolulu will host the 2011 APEC Conference Leader’s Meetings this year during the week of November 6-13. It is an exciting opportunity for Hawaii to show off its hospitality and beauty, as well as its rich culture and international excellence. Hawaii is the perfect place to have the APEC conference because its location is essentially right in the middle of the Pacific. All of the countries that participate essentially surround the Hawaiian Islands. The conference will bring approximately 17,000 visitors, but they aren’t just visitors. Many of the attendees are international leaders, corporate executives, and major media outlets from across the world.  Themes for this year’s conference are Green Growth, Developing a Next Generation Trade Agenda for APEC, and Promoting Regulatory Cooperation and Convergence in the Asia-Pacific region.

Written By: